youth ministry minute – # i forget

It’s been a while since I’ve written one of these… so I forget which one I’m on.  Summer is a great time to pause, slow down, and reflect on what new changes and directions your youth ministry needs to take.  It’s also a great time to look back over the past year and celebrate wins.  That’s what I’ve been doing today.  I’ve really been feeling the need in our student ministry to create SPACE.  We (youth pastors) are great at creating content and context… but often not very good at creating space for students to reflect.  We’ve got songs to sing, sermons to preach, games to play… but how often do we create space for students to slow down and absorb?  I can’t remember the last time I pushed the pause button long enough for students to reflect on what’s going on in their life.  I guess I started to think about this today because we are in the process of decking out one of our break-out rooms and I started dreaming about what this space would be used for… small groups? check.  Pizza hang outs?  check.  massive video game parties?  check.  spiritual reflective space?  WHAT?!?  the more I thought about it though… the more I realized that is what students {and you and I} need.  We need all of the above.  Let’s get great at creating SPACE for reflection and absorption.

Leave a Reply

