encounter:GOD – week 2 – highlights

encountergod_graphic

this past weekend was the second week for our encounter:GOD series.  This week we talked about the problem of pain.  I said that everyone goes through some kind of pain: rejection, dumped, addicted parent, loneliness, illness, death in family, etc…  and we usually wonder where God is in the middle of it.  I pointed students back to the cross and reminded them that the cross was one of those moments, and we should be reminded of what Jesus said in John 16:33: “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart!  I have overcome the world.”  The cross was the perfect example of human hurt and God’s hope; of pain and peace.  In the middle of one of the most gruesome pictures of all humanity… God was there and He was in complete control.  I told students that God understand their hurt and pain and that at the cross is where they can find hope and peace. I painted a picture of two hands (a copy of Michaelangelo’s “creation of Adam”) and used black and red paint to symbolize the hurt and pain.  Then I nailed it on the cross and explained that what was meant to be destructive and evil, God used to be one of the most beautiful pictures we would ever encounter.  I then took a bunch of papers with different hurts and pain written on them and nailed them to the cross.  Then I asked students, if they would like to, to write out 1 personal hurt or pain and take it to the cross as a physical reminder to give it to God.  Here are some pictures of what that looked like (PS – I took down the students’ responses out of respect for them.):

0311091412

0311091414

Leave a Reply

