don’t be stupid!

clothes_pinned

so in OSM in April & May we are doing a series called “Don’t be stupid!”  This series is one of those ones where I lived it so I have a lot of resource to pull from.  I was trying to think of what Bible character/story I could use to sum up one of my first talks “stupid choices = stupid consequences” and it dawned on me: SAMSON.  So I started to re-read his story in Judges 13-16.  I get almost to the end of his story when I came across this little gem that I had never seen before (or wasn’t thinking enough like a middle schooler to appreciate.): “So Delilah said to Samson, “Tell me the secret of your great strength and how you can be tied up and subdued.”  Samson answered her, “If anyone ties me with seven fresh THONGS that HAVE NOT BEEN DRIED, I’ll become as weak as any other man.”  I can just imagine the giggling… the laughter… the 7th grader with the bright red face.  this is going to be student ministry at its best.  I’m probably going to have to explain it… of course, but you have to admit… it’s hilarious.  just thought I would share that.

Leave a Reply

