Excuses or Opportunities?

I wonder how many times in my past that God has placed something in my life… a risk, challenge, adventure… only for me to make excuses as to why I can’t do it?  I’m sure that the excuse made sense in my mind at the time, but it was an excuse none the less.  But what was driving that excuse?  I’m becoming more and more convinced that excuses we make to God really spring from an attitude of “God I know what you need, and I’m not quite there, soooo I feel like I can tell you no.”  It maybe one of the most arrogant thoughts ever.  It’s as if we subconsciously think that God somehow NEEDS us.  The older I get, the more I realize though: God doesn’t need me, but He wants me.  And if God wants me, then who am I to tell Him no?  And if God wants me, wouldn’t He equip me with all that I will need? (YES… yes is the answer) Every excuse I have is really an opportunity for God to show off who He is.

Leave a Reply

