Pace affects Productivity

clutter

A few years ago I started to feel as if I was the busiest I had ever been in my life, but also the least productive.  I literally felt like I was the proverbial headless running chicken.  All my gears were spinning and yet I seemed to be going nowhere.  I had many bouts with myself over whether or not I was called into ministry.  I don’t know if you’ve ever been there or not.  It was at that moment in my life when I literally THREW DOWN everything I was doing in my office, went to my white board, and started listing off everything I was doing.  I kid you not, my white board filled up faster than a skinny kid at a buffet.  I stepped back and couldn’t believe the pace that I was running at.  And that was just in ministry!  I also had a wife and one son at that time.  I concluded that if I kept this up… I was on a road to certain disaster.  On the way home, I saw something that made me think even more about this.  It was in the winter and there was about an inch of snow on the ground.  I had a 4 wheel drive vehicle, so I was golden, but this one lady was not so fortunate: she was driving a rear wheel drive vehicle.  She seemed to be stuck in the snow.  (actually she wasn’t that stuck… as we will find out.)  she gunned the gas in her car, and her wheels spun violently, but she went NOWHERE!  so she floored the gas again… nowhere.  In fact, the more gas she gave it, the worse it got.  The faster the pace of tires, the more she went nowhere.  She finally got out of that mess, but it took a change in strategy.  She let up on the gas pedal, got some forward movement, and then slowly gave it gas.  VOILA!!!  unstuck and moving.  It was at that moment that I said to myself: “PACE AFFECTS PRODUCTIVITY!”  My pace has a direct affect on how productive I am.  Frantic pace often leads to focal paralysis.  or, to put it more plainly, the faster you go, the easier it is to lose control.  In order to regain focus, you need to slow down, eliminate unnecessary distractions that cause you to speed up, and focus on forward movement.  Pace affects productivity!

Leave a Reply

