leaders are learners

a few years back I was at a youth specialties conference in Nashville, TN and heard doug fields say something that has stuck with me since. He said, “Leaders are learners. if you’ve stopped learning, you’ve stopped leading.” There is just something about that statement that rings so true in the realm of leadership. There is always something that you can learn from any given situation, from books that you read, or people you are with. My journal is full of everyday leadership lessons that I gather from my own personal experiences, what I am learning from others around me, what I am learning through my interaction with scripture, and what I am reading. My thought in this is simple: I want to learn much to lead well. The day you give up on learning is the day you give up on leading.

So, what are you reading? Who are you learning from? How does that make you a better leader?

One thought on “leaders are learners

  1. Nice reminder Sam. The moment we think we know it all is the moment we begin to fall. Sorry for the rhyme. I couldn’t help it 🙂 Knowing it all, seemingly, provides open access for the cultivation of pride which is one of the greatest enemies of excellent leadership. Keep learning!

Leave a Reply

