Guitar corner: new gear

if you know me well, then you know that I love playing the electric guitar.  I spend a lot of my “free” time playing my guitars.  I have been looking a while now for an overdrive that 1) would be a quality overdrive with a realistic, natural sound & 2) wouldn’t be the same thing that all of my other friends who play guitar have.  Everyone has the Fulltone fulldrive 2, Boss Blues Driver modded by keeley, Boss super overdrive, and Ibanez TS 808.  So I have searched high and low for one that would meet those criteria and… be under $100.  I bought a Danelectro Cool Cat Drive pedal about a year ago for like $20 on ebay that has proven to be a SWEET high gain overdrive… but I need one that will serve for those mid-boosted TS sounds.  I think I have finally found it.  It is the GFS (guitarfetish.com) Twin Overdrive:

it combines the sound of a vintage Ibanez TS 808 in the boost channel with the modern sounds of a modded 90’s Ibanez TS 9 with more gain in the overdrive channel.  you can stack the channels for full on Distortion and screaming leads.  It’s probably a lot like the fulldrive but with more diversity.  the only pedals I’ve seen like it are the Visual Sound Double Trouble and the Seymore Duncan Twin Tube pedal.  It’s only $67 before shipping.  I think this is going to be it… but then again, I always say that 🙂

3 thoughts on “Guitar corner: new gear

  1. hi, how did you like the twin overdrive? I see everyone talking about but yet there are still no reviews for it. I have fulldrive 2 and blues driver(not modded…yet), and how do you think it compares to these?

    1. it’s a great, warm sounding overdrive. I have MANY overdrives and have used many… (boss super overdrive, dano cool cat, Ibanez TS808 reissue, fulltone fulldrive 2, boss blues driver, digitech tone driver, dod 250… you name it, I’ve probably played it.) and this overdrive is literally better sounding than ALL of those. I love it!

  2. I’m curious to find out what weblog platform you’re utilizing? I’m experiencing some minor security problems with my latest website and I would like to find some thing more risk-free. Do you have any solutions?

Leave a Reply

