“Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction…”

I’m reading through the book of Proverbs because we are teaching through a series on making wise choices this month in OSM.  I have read this book probably a kajillion (yup, literally) times in the past, but these verses stuck out to me in a new way this morning:

“Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.  They will be a garland to grace your head and a chain to adorn your neck.”  Proverbs 1:8-9

Now I’ve read those verses multiple times… and every time I read them I always think of the things that my dad and mom taught me and that I should heed them often.  But this morning I thought of them differently.  I did that because my 4 year old came down the stairs when i was reading them… saw me reading my bible, and immediately went back up to his room and grabbed his “bible” (it was actually a book about a family who loved Jesus… but it’s the thought that counts b/c he can’t read). These verses grabbed my attention as “the father” and not as “the son” this time.  the instruction was plain to me “train your son about God.  Give him wisdom to live by.  Show him the truth of the scriptures.  The Own-ness is now upon me… not upon what my father did or did not do.  I am now the father.  I am the instructor.  I am the teacher.  I am the one who sets the example.  It’s amazing how little “real-life” moments can make the scriptures come blazing alive to you.

Leave a Reply

