Leadership quotes

So for a couple of years I have been writing down in my journal some quotes to live/lead by.  I’ll be reading a book, hanging out with a friend, listening to a podcast or sermon… and all of a sudden I’ll read something or hear something and think…”I have got to put that one down in my journal.”  I have around 50 or so that I go back to over and over again.  One that I go back to frequently is this:

“People will believe what they perceive.”

Perception is reality 9 times out of ten for people.  As the old saying goes, “If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck… it must be a duck.”  Knowing this is actually HUGE for leadership.  As a leader, it is only to my benefit to know how people perceive me.  Now, I shouldn’t make decisions based on people’s perceptions (that’s leadership suicide), but rather learn to weigh if what people perceive of me is accurate or not.  If people have an off-base perception of me or my organization, it affects how I can lead.  I also know that if people’s perception of me is not accurate, then it is always MY fault and I need to take a long look in the mirror to find out exactly WHO I am putting out there.  The only way to change someone’s perception of me or my organization is to speak to it truthfully… something like: “I’m not entirely sure where you got your information, but, in my opinion, it is far from accurate.  May I share with you my perspective?”

Leave a Reply

