When Change is Necessary Part Two: When

So it has been a little bit of time between part one of this series of posts and part two.  That is  because there has literally been something going on almost every week of this summer that has demanded my time away from blogging.

Anyway, let’s get back to it!

So we have walked through the first and probably most critical part of change: discovering WHY change is necessary.  I’ve felt like changing things before, went through the exercise of “Why should I change this”, discovered that I had no good reason why, and decided not to pursue change at that moment.  WHY? is one of the most important questions to ask yourself when pursuing change.

The second most important question to ask is “WHEN?”

When it comes to change… TIMING IS EVERYTHING.  The right thing, at the wrong time, becomes the wrong thing.  Let me say that again, The right thing… at the wrong time… becomes the wrong thing.

Let me illustrate my point.

A guy and a girl who’ve been dating for a while go on a trip.  The guy has planned that this trip is going to be it…  He’s going to pop the big question… not “will you make me a sandwich?” (I’ve been hanging around high school guys for too long this summer 🙂 )  but “Will you marry me?”  On this trip there are a series of very unfortunate events that take place that have the girl beginning to question their relationship.  At one point they both look at each other and say, “I need to talk to you about something.”  The guy decides to be polite and let her go first.  She says, “I think we need a break from dating each other… what were you going to say?”  He sheepishly smiles and asks, “Will you marry me?”

TIMING IS EVERYTHING!!!

So, when it comes to change… ask yourself these questions:

1. what is going on right now that would prevent this change from going well?

2. why is now better than later to change this?

3. What is the worst that could happen as a result of changing this now?

THE RIGHT THING… AT THE WRONG TIME… BECOMES THE WRONG THING!

Timing is everything.

Leave a Reply

