Aligning Next-Gen Ministries in your Church (part 3)

The-Importance-of-Aligning-Expectations-e1440617986859

As I have stated in previous posts, my job as a Next Gen Pastor is to make sure that the ministries in my Next Gen area (kids and students) are all heading toward the same goal.  When I first heard of this concept, I have to admit, I thought of curriculum.  Now that I have been doing this for a while, I realize that it is soooo much more than that.

In my last 2 posts I gave some suggestions on how you can do this:

POST 1: 1] Create and Cast Vision and Values for Next Gen Ministries & 2] Develop Common Language to Rally Around.  

POST 2: 3] Create a Once-A-Month “All Hands On Deck” Next Gen Team Meeting, & 4] Take Your Team to a Conference.  

I want to add 2 more ideas to the conversation today:

5] Create a “MUST READ” book list 

This has been huge for our team.  Our team has identified a bunch of GREAT books that are helpful for us in moving our ministries in the right direction.  I have been working on compiling that list and making sure we have those resources readily available to our team members.  I make sure that we are reading important books together as a team and talking about them.  This not only helps us lead better (leaders are learners & readers are leaders) but it also gives us some “common language” to rally around.  Sit with your Next Gen leaders and talk about what is important to read and make a list… it will take you to the next level.

6] Use Great Curriculum

Ok… so I started this post by saying that it is not about curriculum… which I will still say.  Curriculum cannot be the ONLY thing that aligns you, but it is A PART of what aligns you.  If you can get your curriculum to line up (content and direction) then you will be on your way to your goal together.  You will know what the other ministries are up to and what they are teaching so the baton can be passed smoothly from one ministry area to another.  We use the RETHINK curriculum with the ORANGE STRATEGY
(First Look, 252 Basics, XP3).  Their curriculum is AWESOME and Rethink does a lot of the alignment work for us.  Now, I’m not saying that you HAVE TO use their curriculum to align your Next Gen Minsitries.  What I am saying is that you need to make sure that your curriculums make sense when placed next to each other and that it takes a kid & student on a journey that leads them to a destination when they graduate high school.

Next week I’ll conclude this series with my final 2 ideas for aligning Next Gen Ministries. But until then, what do you do?

Leave a Reply

